T Nation

Attention Accountants: Age a Factor?

I have about 8 years experience in industry as a staff accountant, and just completed my B.S. in accounting last year, I will finish my M.S. Accountancy in December and would like to move into public accounting after that. Does anyone here with public accounting experience or knowledge, have any idea if my age will be a problem , I will be 33 by December. I have heard conflicting ideas, but not from anyone with any actual knowledge.

My good friend just graduated from michigan state with his accounting degree(BS). He worked as an intern his senior year, and already had a job at an accounting firm before he even graduated.

I would imagine you shouldnt have a problem. You may be bottom rung though. I believe he is makin around 40ish a year last time I talked to him. Im not exactly sure what type of accounting/who he works for or what exactly he does.

Accountants (in particular CPA's) are in demand. If you are smart, getting a job will not be a problem.

But, be prepared for where it is that you want to go. If you plan on going big 4, expect to work with alot of kids who have no goal, ambitions, or hobbies that are alligned with your own. I know. I did it, and it sucked.

If you've got a smaller firm or even a second tier middle market firm that you've been eyeing, start the conversations now to see how the culture is. It might be a better fit for you (and may not as I don't really know what you want).

You can let me know if you've got other questions. Accounting is always good for a base.

I am Tax Manager with 26 Year experince. I went back to work for the Big 4 when I was in my 40s. So age is not a factor with them if you have all the other reqirement they are looking for. But heads up the Big 4 are long hours and a lot of politics to get ahead. But 3-4 year with then pay off in the long term.