T Nation

Attacking Deadlift Plateau

I’ll try to make this as short as possible and state only what I know and a few options that I am considering on how to approach my problem.
I’ve been hitting a brick wall at 600 for two years now. My sticking point is mid-shin. Moves off the floor fine and slows down.

I’m not a particularly fast puller as I have to be conscious of letting my hips rise too fast and end up stiff legging it up. My technique feels better than it ever has. I usually only attempt a maximal pull once per year. At one point all my lifts were regressing, until I reduced frequency.

I squat one week and pull the next, same for bench and OHP. Since, all my lifts have been progressing, tweaks and injuries are non-existent, except my deadlift has gone nowhere. Besides my two heavy sessions per week (one lower/one upper) I do a bodybuilding session for the upper and kettlebell swings and high pulls or cleans in another session. My last maximal attempt I had the thought “holy shit, this intensity zone feels completely foreign to me”.

I tried grinding it out for about five seconds and noticed my chest and upper back caving, legs straightening and it was quickly turning into a stiff leg pull. My first thought as I immediately set the weight down was that I’m not spending enough time at higher intensities and that possibly my lower back, Glutes and hams are weak. I also, work a blue collar job, am 6’5 and my lower back gets over worked very easily, so my approach has to be thought out, because throwing the kitchen sink at it in the past has lead to overtaining and regression. Currently, I’m training the deadlift with singles for sets of 8-10 in a linear fashion with intensities from 70-80% of 1rm, with an occasional AMRAP replacing the singles sets.

The following are options I’m considering and a few thoughts on training methods I’ve used in the past.