atkins

I am 40 & want to get that 20 yr old body back. what is up with atkins diet. i have been hitting the weights hard for 3 years following bompa and others. great progress with strength & physique but could never get that “cut” look. tried went on atkins this past sunday. it is thursday & I am down 6 lbs (179 to 173). look much better & am eating like a madman. steak, salmon, eggs, & salad.

is this for real? anyone had any bad experience?

thanks.

hey scratch,
i went on atkins a couple of months ago and had good early results but i ave fallen of the wagon – laziness, lost momentum, other life factors – but i definitely felt better once i got into ketosis. on atkins i stopped feeling hungry all the time and had lots more energy. it’s just i lost time for cooking my meals and it’s expensive to buy a meat-laden lunch every day (at least it is in northern cali; cost of food here is ridiculous!) i’m trying to drag my ass back into it, so your post has helped me.
keep it up and keep us updated on your progress.

While I applaud your early success, I prefer T-Dawg for a low-carb diet. It’s geared more towards weightlifters and is much healthier, especially if you plan on using the diet often. You might want to look into it in the T-Mag previous issues, and look for the updated version soon.

How many carbs are allowed per day on atkins?

whats the deal with atkins besides lo carbing??

thanks LT. i read thru the previous posts and found a lot of atkins bashing, but not much reasoning behind it. I am looking for the logic on why it is bad for bodybuilders, or is it just preference?