ATG Squat Flexibility Issue

Hello all

I have been lifting for the past 4 years. It was a endless learning process, specially thanks to this site.

Recently I check the form of my back squats and I realize that they sucks. My torso tend to lean forward while I am squatting down. I mean, the angle between my torso and thighs not is 90degrees but about 40 or 50 degrees. And I can’t do “ass to grass” without rounding my low back. There is no pain, but I think I am doing it wrongly.

I tried sit back correctly, maintain chest up, hands grip close to the shoulders (almost touching), push from heels (trying lifting toes off the ground) and so on.
Doing a little of researching here and there I found that the problem maybe some lack of flexibility.

What do you recommend? overhead squats with light weight? box squats?
Some flexibility exercise too?

I consider myself flexible enough but may be wrong. I can reach my feet with my hands leaning forward (with a little hunchback in my mid back) and lying back on the floor and bending one leg by my hip while the other leg is on the floor the top of the thigh almost reach my torso. As regards ankle flexibility I can?t do what picture show. My knew reach up to toes level.
http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/22/19129.jpg

Thanks

just squating to paralel

I have the same problem

I was trying to find out what test that picture was describing and came up with this thread.
http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/22/19125.html

They talk about what to do there.

Never squat with a rounded back! Only go as deep as your current flexibility allows and work on improving your flexibility and therefore improving your depth on the squat.

Buy the DVD Magnificent Mobility. I got it a few weeks ago and its really very good. My flexibility is improving every time i perform the routine and it is now my standard warm up prior to lifting. It only takes 5 or 10 minutes to do. Everyone should give it a watch!