T Nation

At What Level Does Muscle Mass...

become detrimental to performance in MMA or martial arts in general? I’ve been doing Taekwondo for years, and I am currently an instructor in it. I’ve also been learning boxing, kickboxing, and muay thai in my Krav Maga class.

I’ve been lifting weights for about 6 months (I know it’s a very limited amount of time) and have put on a decent amount of size. I like the way the muscle looks, and I’d like to get bigger, but I’m curious if continuing on my strength/mass training routine would be detrimental to my performance in a sport such as TKD which is very speed/flexibility based. Is there any real way to know when I’ve reached a point in muscle mass where I should stop building muscle and simply attempt to maintain?

There is no clear answer to this. Generally, as soon as your muscle mass makes your relative strength, endurance or agility suffer, you’ve become too bulky. This, however, depends on the respective person.
Now here’s something you may not know: You can also lose muscle if you find it to be detrimental. If I were you I’d just keep gaining muscle until your growth slows down, you’re satisfied with what you have or you feel like you’re becoming a worse fighter. Then, adjust your diet and lower your strength training volume.

[quote]Silvance wrote:
become detrimental to performance in MMA or martial arts in general? I’ve been doing Taekwondo for years, and I am currently an instructor in it. I’ve also been learning boxing, kickboxing, and muay thai in my Krav Maga class.