At a Crossroads...

I thought I’d hit you guys (and girls) up, since I think this forum best represents people from every walk of life.

For the past few years, I’ve been getting more and more down on the idea of spending 50-60 hours a week working…feeling like I’m just preparing for retirement. I’m 29, and don’t want to wake up one day and be too old to enjoy life.

My background is in aviation maintenance and inspection, and I’m currently working on my electrical engineering degree. I was given an opportunity to work in our engineering department as an intern, and have been doing so for about 6 months. As great of an opportunity as that is, I’ve seen our engineers spend 10-12 hours a day (5-6 days a week) sitting in front of a computer. They are generally pale and overweight.

I’m only 2 years into school, and I’m questioning if that’s what I want to do for the next 30 years. I’m getting an overwhelming feeling of not fitting in to many of the companies I’ve worked for, and can’t stand how everyone pretends to get along, then rips on each other behind their backs.

The technicians I worked with were great, but drank themselves to sleep every night. The engineers are nice, but are mainly spoiled kids who have never had to work until now. Last week I was called “blue collar” because I maintain my own vehicles (one of the biggest turn-ons for my wife). Many of them have never so much as changed their own oil.

Do any of you feel like you don’t quite fit the mold of what you’re doing for a living? I know every job is tough and I’m not a complainer, I just don’t want to waste the life I’ve been given.

I would love to find time to play guitar and sing again, or start writing in some form, but those are hardly good career decisions. How do you succeed in a career without losing who you are as a person?

P.S. If you can’t relate, just move on. I don’t need any more negativity right now