Assessing weak points

This week I read a great article by Louie Simmons in Powerlifting USA that discussed bringing up the weak points of Mike Boldt’s bench. The article talked about prescribing a specific lift to bring up tricep strength which resulted in the lifter making 20% progress in a few months. Now, I know Louie Simmons makes his living teaching how to do this, but what about us normal guys trying to make progress? Is there a good reference to find out what these percentages or formulas are? I’m not new at this. I’ve been lifting for over 20 years, reading T-mag for 2+ and searched the forum and FAQ for info. Are there any books, trusted sites etc… that contain this knowlege? If I’m missing osmething point me in the right direction, PLEASE!

I haven’t come across any specific books that address each and every issue but rather have picked up tips here and there to add to my arsenal of knowledge. Your best bet IMO would be to read everything you can get your hands on including all of the articles that Tate and Simmons have written. If your looking for something more technical, check out ‘Supertraining’ by Mel Siff, ‘Science and Practice of Strength Training’ by Zatsiorsky. Although neither of these texts will be the be-all, end-all, they are a good start. If your interest is in powerlifting, read the Q/A archives over at elitefts.com as well all the articles they have. The articles at deepsquatter.com are also pretty good. What are the specific exercises your having trouble with and what is the problem? People on this forum will be able to help you out if you throw out a specific question.