T Nation

Assess My Diet/Program Please

I’ve been training for about 6 - 7 months and have made some gains in strength and muscle mass but I’m having trouble with getting rid of fat weight.

My stats at the moment are;

Male, 25 years old.

243 lbs (roughly 18% bf so still on a fat bastard level)
Squat; 242 lbs up from 175 lbs
Deadlift; 330 lbs up from 209 lbs
Bench; 220 lbs up from 145 lbs

The program;

Day 1; Legs

Squats 5x5

Deadlifts 5 x 5

Day 2;

Bench press 5x5

Military Press 5 x 5

Dips 5 x 5

Day 3;

Bicep curls 8 x 3

Skullcrushers 8 x 3

Bent over rows 5 x 5

Day 4;

Close grip bench press 5x5

Deadlifts 5 x 5

Standing rows 5 x 5

Day 5;

Standing shoulder press (dumbell) 5 x 5

Front Squats 5 x 5

Pull ups 5 x 5

The diet;

Breakfast;

4 whole eggs, 100g of ham (18g protein, 1g carb, 4g fat)

4 capsules of fish oil (roughly 2g) taken 30 minutes after the meal

Or

2 scoops (48g) of whey protein in water, 2 tsp flax seeds, 1 whole egg.

Pre workout;

24g of whey protein in water.

Post workout;

48g of whey protein in water, 1/2 cup of oats or blueberres.

Lunch/post workout meal;

100 - 200g of ham, along with either oats or green veggies.

Dinner;

400g of either ground beef with onion, grilled chicken with steamed veggies or salmon filets with steamed veggies.

4 caps of omega 3

Pre sleep;

24g casein in water, ingested roughly 1 hour before bedtime.

I’m having problems deciding if my problem is eating too much or too little and I want to avoid losing newbie gain time because of diet or program flaws. I’m trying to cut fat while retaining or possibly gaining muscle.

Any information I left out please let me know.

Thanks

Scelerat.

Congrats on the progress! My thoughts: