Artificial Sweetener - Erythritol

This is a little obscure but I think this stuff is badass. It’s an artificial sweetener. It’s similar to xylitol, but I have no experience with cooking with xylitol, and with erythritol I do and I can say I like it! They use it in gum, vitamin water 10 and available in bulk as examples. It’s (nearly) calorie free, tastes good, doesn’t upset my stomach. No downsides to it for me. I make a couple of recipes with it, and am looking to expand my use of it, although I wouldn’t suggest anyone use it heavily in amounts more than 10 grams or so, nor daily, just as a precaution against ill effects.

From a muscle building standpoint I wouldn’t think it would do much one way or the other, although i have flavored my anaconda shakes with it just for fun, and it worked pretty well when I included cool aid powder too.

This is cool: “Erythritol is a sweet antioxidant” Nutrition | Journal | ScienceDirect.com by Elsevier

I’m on a diet right now, and although it’s a “diet friendly food” I’m being pretty strict right now for simplicity sake and not using it. When I’m off my diet, I’ll come up with some creative recipes and post pics if I remember.

Where to buy: online Amazon.com or at the grocery store. I picked up a bag called “Zsweet All Natural Zero Calorie Sweetener” and flavored some…

Fried Coconut Shrimp:
Ingredients:
teaspoon coconut oil
Unsweetened Medium Shredded Coconut to taste
handful or two of precooked medium-large shrimp
teaspoon of (Vietnamese) chili garlic sauce to taste http://store.indianfoodsco.com/Grocery/ProdDesc.CFM?itemid=CHCS210&Description=Chili%20Garlic%20Sauce&countryid=&countryname=&countryorderid=
ZSweet to taste
A shake or two of cinnamon
Salt and pepper to taste

Sorry no pics or stats, but it’s very low carb and high in protein depending on the amount of shrimp you throw in!

Google turns up a list of sugar alcohols and their calories per gram:

Erythritol really is about as close to zero cal as you can get.