T Nation

Arms and Chest!

i got a few questions first off what are a few ways to work the bottom of the pecs towards the nipple area, and also what are a few lifts to work the pec near the rotator cuff? a

nother thing is does anyone have any advise on getting larger arms? i know the arm is mostly tricep but i want larger bis i have been working them hard for about 3 months and gained significant strength but no size

it sounds like you are a noob to lifting. If you want to add size to your arms your going to have to gain weight, plain and simple. Focus on putting on overall mass by hitting your back, legs, and chest, and shoulders hard. With the weight gain will come bigger arms. To answer your chest question, stick to incline DB press and decline DB press.

I’m going to pass on some advice that I got when I asked a similar question a year or so ago. I was really concerned with my upper chest area.

Don’t worry about it, eat enough, and keep getting stronger.

But a more specific answer: dips and decline bench will put more stress on the lower chest. Incline supposedly does more upper chest. I think a lower incline DB bench press is a great exercise.

Chin ups and heavy rows will help your bis. and curls, I guess.

you mean arms and chest FTW!!!

[quote]boyscout wrote:
Chin ups and heavy rows will help your bis. and curls, I guess. [/quote]

I was a believer that direct arm work was not necessary. When I started doing direct arm work, my puny little 13" arms bumped up to be still puny 14,75" arms in just over a week (I’d like to see 1,75" gains in just over a week when they are 21 to start with instead of 13… woo haa).

I had been doing just chins and rows before that. I’m not saying that chins and rows shouldn’t be the main focus, but don’t forget direct arm work.

To the first question: decline dumbbell and barbell presses are good for chest isolation. It’s hard to really “isolate” a certain part of the pectorals, it’s all one muscle.