Arm Wrestling

So I’ve been lifting weights for well over a year now and have built my strength up considerably. To my great dismay, I was unable to beat my buddy, who is a stout plumber that DOESN’T EVEN LIFT, in a right-handed arm wrestling match. It was very humbling. I did beat him lefty, though.

I’ve already turned my cap backwards and made a mean face. I squat, deadlift, press, and eat a lot of meat. Say my prayers and take my vitamins, all the good stuff.

What do I need to do to take my arm wrestling to the next level? How do I get good at this foolish display of machismo?

Dude turns wrenches for a living. Mechanics half your size would probably pin you also.

Great arm wrestling documentary.

I have no experience in the area, but I’d assume a lot of rotator cuff work is in order.

Just for inspiration

[quote]LankyMofo wrote:
I have no experience in the area, but I’d assume a lot of rotator cuff work is in order.[/quote]

nope. Grip, forearm flexors, and biceps

There is a ton of technique in arm wrestling. Also, you can get really hurt if you don’t know what you are doing.

[quote]TooHuman wrote:

[quote]LankyMofo wrote:
I have no experience in the area, but I’d assume a lot of rotator cuff work is in order.[/quote]

nope. Grip, forearm flexors, and biceps[/quote]

Also, lats, for back pressure. The greatest arm wrestler ever John Brzenk said pullups was the best exercise you could do for improving arm wrestling, besides actual arm wrestling. He was really adamant on how much you have to arm wrestle to become great at it. Nothing beats actually practicing day after day.

Brzenk was a pretty jacked dude (even by weightlifter standards) but he beat some absolute mountainous men with his superior technique. He has an awesome quote too which is something along the lines of “My arm is like electricity, it just finds the path of least resistance”.