Are you a researcher?

As I’m searching out schools in which to pursue a Ph.D. I’m curious to know what others are studying and what schools you’re at.

Currently I’m investigating the effect of contraction type on muscle hypertrophy, but am also interested in nutritional interactions with resistance training (i.e., Tipton’s work).

I’m a PhD student at Wash U in St. Louis.

What is your area of interest?

Right now, Cancer biology, but I’m still in 1st year rotations. I don’t know what my 3rd rotation will be, but I may go into nutrition, such as fat metabolism

Baylor in Texas has a lot of fine Kines people. (Rick Kreider is there).

Check it out.

Kinetix -if you’re into Tipton’s work, then UTMB would be great. The lab is pretty kick ass, and the people are absolutely amazing. The down side for us Canadians: the heat, mosquitos, “Galvetraz”, and the HEAT!:slight_smile:

-Dave Barr

Cassanova,

Do you know Mike Greenwood at Baylor? He was one of my undergraduate advisors when he was at Arkansas State.

Hey D! :slight_smile:

No, I don’t know Mike. But I wish I was down in Texas…

Right now I’m at U of Alberta in Canada, but VERY soon I will be in U of Connecticut in the USA! (BIG GRIN).

I’m at UConn right now. In fact, Cass decided to come here simply because I RULE. Okay, okay, so I’m full of crap. Nonetheless, UConn is a great school for research; we’re doing a fair amount of stuff this fall (a lot of prep work), but the spring will be extremely busy from a research standpoint.

Cass, why are you going to UConn?

Eric,

Forgive my ignorance, but what is the focus of your lab? From what Cass has told me you’re doing some work with Keto diets?

This is my one VERY important suggestion regarding PhD studies:

1. Make sure you’re going to study something you REALLY like because you could be doing it for 5+ years!