T Nation

Are You a Natural Athlete or a Convert?

Have you always been athletic (played sports as a kid, etc.)?

Or did you discover your physical side later in life?

Just curious, because I fall into the second group and am guessing I'm in the minority. It wasn't until my 20s that I did any kind of physical sport. After seven years of working out, it has become so second nature that it's hard to remember what my life used to be like. I love hitting the gym, and plan to do it the rest of my life. Just wish I had seen the light at a younger age.

I started lifting at 25 because I was unhappy with myself physically, I was having some odd issues in my life and needed to blow off some steam several times a week and I’ve been hooked since. I cant stand not lifting…

I’m the furthest thing from being an athlete. In fact, I’m pretty much a spaz, which upsets both of my brothers who were captains of every varsity team in school, because as we’ve aged, I LOOK the most like an athlete -lol.

I got into bodybuilding because of my artwork. I always kinda viewed my training as sculpting, and for someone who grew up reading superhero comics, and teaching drawing anatomy classes,… well, it just made perfect sense.

S

I’ve always kept active and played sports my whole life. I’d like to think of myself as very athletic. I just wish I got into weightlifting earlier on.

I always played sports, but I was awful at them until high school when i became a gym rat. I always excelled more in theater and writing up until that point. Eventually I was doing both, started in a state playoff game and starred in the fall play on the same Saturday one year.

That was a long ass day.

Nope, throughout childhood and the early teen years I was an obese couch potato that could barely lift a milk jug.

Glad I got bit by the iron bug :slight_smile:

[quote]The Mighty Stu wrote: