Are these Numbers Realistic?

I have been lifting for five months after ‘retiring’ from triathlon. I started out with more of a bodybuilding split but now I have moved to powerlifting type training and plan to keep it that way. Right now I can squat 225 (just below parallel), bench 165, deadlift 270, and push press 120. By the end of 2012 my goals are to squat 255, bench 185, deadlift 315, and push press 150. Given the amount of time I have been training and my current level, do these seem to be realistic goals?

Those lifts are definitely achievable. Where were those lifts at 5 months ago?

If it motivates you to hear that they’re unrealistic… then they’re unrealistic.

If it demotivates you to hear that they’re unrealistic… then they’re realistic.

Either way, I recommend posting in the PR thread here as you work toward those goals.

Those numbers look reasonable. Good luck!

[quote]The-German wrote:
Those lifts are definitely achievable. Where were those lifts at 5 months ago? [/quote]

When I started I could bench about 95 pounds and squat about 100 pounds. Didn’t start dead lifting until a couple months ago, but I started with 135. I started push pressing three weeks ago with 95 pounds.

yup. definitely realistic numbers that can be achieved.

“whether you think you can, or you can’t… you’re right”

Well, either way, theres only one way to find out. And it seems like you are already on the right track. Even if for some reason you don’t hit them at the end of the year just keep going. Its a longevity game, in terms of making gains.

Thanks for the advice guys. One more question: I was thinking about doing Smolov jr. for bench and squat, then following that with Smolov jr. for deadlift and push press. Would it be better for me to do this or to stick with a more conventional linear model?