Are These Decent Results After 1 Year of Consistent Training?

Hello. Here are my results after one year of consistent training. Granted, perhaps I I am experiencing newbie gains, but any comments would be appreciated. I did linear progression until that stalled out, and then I have been doing 5/3/1. If you think I am progressing too slowly, please so state and perhaps provide some thoughts on how things can move faster.

Background stats: 49 yo, male, around 5’7", 163-ish

Squat (Oct '18-Oct '19) 155 to 205 lbs (+50 lbs, or +32%)
Dead lift (same dates) 175 to 250 lbs (+75 lbs or +42%)
Bench (same dates) 125 to 180 lbs (+55 lbs or +44%)

Thanks

I’m a newb too and coming up on my one year anniversary as well. To me that doesn’t seem like good progress at all.

Are you eating to get stronger or have you been dieting while doing this?

Body weight has been pretty consistent over the year.

You got stronger at the same body weight. That’s progress.

Laying down new muscle tissue will require more calories, but not if you don’t want to do it.

It’s all optional.

2 Likes