T Nation

Are Supplements Worth It?

I’ve just started getting to the gym recently and I’m trying to lose weight. The day I started I weighed in at 265 pounds with a height of 5’9", obviously the worst shape I’ve ever been in. I’m going in heavy enough, 5 times a week and I’ve been at it just about 3 weeks now. I’m book smart enough on some of this stuff but I’ve been debating over the suppliment angle for a while now.

Thus far into my routine (Primarily consisting of a cardio warmup, followed by a 20-30 minute weight set on arms, chest and back, and ending with another 30-45 minutes of cardio) I’ve seen some good results in endurance and weight lifting capability. And I definately feel a ton better than I did 3 weeks ago.

My goal is to lose body fat (26.7% when I started) and over time lose the gut, big thighs and man boobs. I’m sure you can tell I’m not good with subtlety in describing my condition. Essentially I want to work extremely hard towards a body I don’t have to feel that I need to hide behind cloth all the time, and I’m willing to do whatever it takes.

I’m far enough into my routine that it is time for me to start changing it up and refining what I’m doing as my joints and muscles don’t burn like they did days after the fact when I first started.

So first off, does anyone have any advice given my weight and direction. And secondly, are suppliments worth the cost investment for the results they will produce, or am I just too new to this to even consider them yet?

I’ve been recommended several things by friends and one of the local suppliment shops. Specifically to start off with a protein shake base, multivitamin and a thermogenic.

More specifically IsoFlex for the protein, Optimum Nutrition Opti-Men for the multivitamin and a thermogenic (HOT-ROX aren’t common in Canada).