T Nation

Are My SS Weights OK?

Starting SS tomorrow 15 YO, 80 kg
Are these weights adequate for the beginning in relation to my 1 rms?

Squat 1 rm - 85 kg
Starting weight - 42 kg

Bench 1 rm - 81.5 kg
Starting weight - 39.5 kg

Dead lift - ~ 100 kg ( Have previously done 90 kg, definitely could’ve done a good bit more )
Starting weight - 47 kg

The weights are in weird numbers as my bar is 7 kg :S
(Don’t have space for an 7 ft Olympic bar - also only have 1" plates D

It honestly doesn’t matter; starting strength is exactly for people who can’t put up a lot of wieght/haven’t lifted before. You could start at 1/2 that weight and it’d be OK.

On SS you’re better off starting light anyway since you are going to increase weight pretty rapidly. Starting light will keep you from stalling early.

Yes, they’re fine.

Is the first workout meant to be very easy?
How much should I add for the first few workouts?

Sorry, I’m a newbie :stuck_out_tongue:

[quote]j0hn117 wrote:
Is the first workout meant to be very easy?
How much should I add for the first few workouts?

Sorry, I’m a newbie :p[/quote]

Yes, the first few workouts should feel REALLY easy. every time you manage to get all five reps for all sets, add 5lbs the next time you do the exercise - but add 10 lbs to the deadlift each time. This means that you will effectively add 15 to your squat and deadlift and 7.5 to your presses and cleans each week.

Always better to start too low than too high. If you start too high, you can stall out too soon, or not develop proper form and ending up hurting yourself.