Are Deloading Weeks Necessary?

I was just wondering, since I’ve never done a deloading week before, I just want to know, do you think it’s really necessary?? couldn’t I just take the week off from lifting and do more conditioning instead?? I really want to jump into my next plan and keep my strength gains moving along.

Unless this your first workout routine you’ve done a deload. Whether its been a because you were sick, vacation, tired of lifting, or change to a different program.

You don’t have to stop lifting totally, you can either half the frequency volume or both. Or yes you can do conditioning. It’s better to not do more that what you normally do since for the purpose of pure strength gain, conditioning can have adverse effects if done too long. Or if your next plan is different enough you can go ahead and jump into your next program. A deload is primarily for a break from your current routine not necessarily a transition period.

Any type of deloading or taper where you give your body a rest will help you if you’ve been working with intensity.

If you’re doing a bodybuilding-type split where you only lift a muscle-group every 5-10 days then a “deloading week” probably isn’t going to do much for you. Unless you’re dieting for a contest and pushing your body past its physiological norms then I don’t think a deloading week is going to help you that much.

If you’re training like a powerlifter, strongman, or an off season athlete whose doing a lot of heavy lifting then taking a “deloading” week every 8 weeks where you drop your volume will help you put more weight on the bar in the long term and getting the bar off your back (doing front squats, belt squats, and trap bar deadlifts instead of back squats, deadlifts, and good mornings) by cycling your exercises is a really good idea.