APFT prep Program

I just got done with a bulking phase (currently maintaining) and i’m trying to plan a cutting/APFT prep phase. My primary concern is not so much fat loss as it is improving cardiovascular endurance and maintaining upper-body strength (though fat loss is a goal, as it will improve my relative strength). I don’t do daily PT, as I’m in the National Guard. I’m an ectomorph, so i don’t plan to change caloric intake very much. My current plan is to use 20 minutes of HIIT and 20 min of endurance running on off days. My question is what kind of program would you recommend. I’m leaning towards a 5x5 program, but wondering if Meltdown training would be better to improve my cardio-respiratory endurance. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

oh btw, i’m a student living in a dorm in a college, so that limits my training and ability to diet and supplement. also my stats are 5’9, 178, 13% bf, and one semester of continuous lifting, but have been lifting on and off for 7 years.

I’ve maxed the APFT for several years now, and here’s what I do: Lift for strength (5x5 works, 1-6 Principal-themed workouts are my favorites, though) until 2 weeks before. Cardio thrown in at least 3x weekly for 20 mins. From 2 weeks until the test, only do bodyweight exercises (PU, SU, Pull Ups, etc) and run (2 miles for time, 5 miles for fun, only because I know the 2 and 5 mile points on the route I run) 4x a week. Rest the night before (obviously), stretch in the shower (assuming its a morning PT test), stretch just before the events. Max it!
Alpha Leads The Way!
-CDT Neuenfeldt

I just want to say that being in the National Gaurd is no excuse to not be in shape. I happen to be in the National Gaurd proudly serving in a Special Operations TACP field. I really get sick of all the “lazy gaurd” comments. I know that we train just as hard if not harder than all the other troops out there. Sorry, had to vent. Good luck with your training.