Anyone with At Least Moderate Scoliosis (+20 degrees) Here? Scoliosis Story

Hi Guys,

I just want to connect with fellow lifters with scoliosis to share/ask questions.I was diagnosed with a 42 degrees S-shaped scoliosis when I was 14/15.

I had to wear brace for a year while carefully watched my posture all the time. My curve went down to 38 degrees of dextroscoliosis and 26 degrees of levoscoliosis after that.

At age of 18, I started lifting weights on and off, my curve went down again to 33 degrees of dextroscoliosis while the levoscoliosis degree remained unchanged. At the age of 20 I started lifting consistently up till now. It has been two years since then (I am 22 now). I just did an x-ray again a couple months ago, My curve is currently 30 degrees dextroscoliosis and 20 degrees of levoscoliosis.

Some of the things that really helped me were strengthening my back and avoiding exercises that put to much pressure on the lower back such as back squats, dead lifts, barbell rows and barbell overhead press. Front squats, dumbbell shoulder press, dumbbell rows are fine for me as long as I keep my form tight and wear a belt.

I went from severe/near-severe scoliosis to close to moderate/low-moderate scoliosis, I can attribute a lot of this to my weight training. I have never had a surgery and I don’t plan to do one at least right now. I can notice muscular imbalances on my back (especially lower back) and my abs are ugly. But so far my progress has been rather amazing. If you guys have any advice, story or comment please feel free to discuss. I am always trying to learn.

1 Like

Good for you mane. Did some doctor tell you to go lift or is it something you’ve done yourself?

When I here scoliosis I think of guys like Gant and Jamieson but I guess it’s different with different degrees of scoliosis