Anyone Using Steel Mace or Clubs?

Wasn’t sure what category to put this post under…
The past 2 years I have been using Steel mace/Steel clubs /kettlebells more and more.
I find that my body has responded well to this.
I know that mace and clubs is still a fringe training modality but more and more high profile people have been seen using them.

MMA fighters use them
I’m a firefighter and for me the rotational/ athletic movements have been exactly what my training needs.

Who’s using mace/clubs?

How do you train with them? What’s the carryover to your firefighting abilities?

Mace and club work help with firefighting
Because the movent patterns really engage a ton of core… i have more muscle endurance
And better grip. My shoulders and back feel really good because before I started training with mace my back was always tight and tired from wearing a 50lb air tank… my joints feel really durable and resilient.

Mace and clubs have their weight at one end. Mace are longer than clubs. Alot of The movement patterns are rotational… think baseball, golf,tennis etc…
If you are familiar with kettlebells then you can already imagine some of the movements especially if you know what kettlebell flow is.

In Steel mace you can use a really light Mace like a 7 or 10 lb and do a flow which looks and feels like martial arts.
Then there are more athletic movements.
Then you have traditional style which is basically swinging it behind your back and pulling it over. There are humans who are using weights at like 80 to 100 lbs!!

The thing about swings is you have the weight at the end and then you have the length of the handle… leverage. The longer the handle the more tourqe and the more strength you need to complete the 360 degree swing.

Right now I am using 40 lbs for my heaviest swing and its tough.
One of the best things about heavy ass swings is the demand on your grip! These swings will give your hands a workout!