T Nation

Anyone Make a Career Change?

If so, how'd you go about doing it and what motivated you to make the switch in the first place.

Now everyone, please take your blood pressure meds before we begin the discussion pops a propranolol

Not a career change per se because I've never had a career.

I studied political science, got a MA in it and was working at law firm and planning on going to law school when I came to the firm realization that despite my family (all lawyers) it wasn't something i was going to enjoy. Instead did a 12 week coding (software) bootcamp and am starting my job Monday.

takes Xanax

Yeah. From one shitty field to another.

Aren't you some kind of engineer or something?

Yes, and a fairly substantial one at that. For 5 years, I was a college professor, teaching and performing research in cognitive psychology. For various reasons, I felt my position was not going to work out well in the long run, so I began searching for a similar one at another university. Unfortunately, the market for PhD cognitive psychologists was rather glutted at the time, and my search was proving fruitless. I finally realized that if I was going to have a career, it was not going to be in academic psychology.

After some soul-searching, and with encouragement from my wife, I decided to become a physician. The next couple of years were interesting, as I had to take med-school prerequisites while continuing to teach full-time. I was not accepted into med school the first time I applied--didn't even get an interview. It wasn't until the second go-round that I was accepted.

Irony of ironies: On the day I was accepted to med school, I also received the one-and-only job offer I ever got for another position in cognitive psychology. Not so ironic but even more importantly, my daughter was born the next morning. (Quite a 24 hours.)