Anyone Familiar with Networking Events?

I got invited to a networking event in NYC this week. I decided it might be a good opportunity to gain “networking experience” and make some new contacts. I would not be representing the company I work for - Ill be representing myself. This event is geared towards starts ups and independent developers. I have some project experience that might be useful for projects in alternative energy/ engineering but I don’t have a particular project I am working on right now nor do I have my own “start up” (though that would be nice). Ive gone to networking events before through my University, though they were usually research presentations and networking was an afterthought. I have never been to an event dedicated to networking directly so I don’t know what to expect. Does anyone have any advice besides the usual dress nice, have a resume, etc?

My advice would be to avoid being a wallflower. No point in going if you aren’t willing to put yourself out there and actually make new contacts.

Don’t be afraid to speak your mind either. I know many people have a tendency to keep things to themselves for fear of looking stupid. Fuck that, no risk no reward.

However, I wouldn’t correct anyone if they’re wrong either… It’s a tricky balancing act.

I fucking hate networking, fwiw…

Good luck. I hope you get something out of it.

Thanks, it happened Tuesday night. The place had about twice as many people as expected so it was packed to the point where there was barely any standing room. Of course when I left (around 9pm) the Grand Central terminals cancelled all outbound trains due to a fire. I didn’t get home until about 4 am that night.