T Nation

Anyone Ever Done a TEFL Course?

Hi, I was just wondering if any of you guys might be able to give me an insight into doing a TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) course.

Basically, I graduated from University here in the UK a couple of years ago, and have kind of just bounced around from temp job to temp job, without any real direction. I was trying for the whole 'graduate' route but it never really worked out for me.

I've decided to use the fact that I left my last job (trainee stockbroker) as an opportunity to re-assess things a little. I figure that instead of doing crappy temp jobs over here where it's cold and wet, I might as well do a TEFL course and go to somewhere in Asia or maybe Latin America and get a bit of life experience, see a different part of the world, perhaps learn a new language. It might also help me reflect on what I really want to do with my future, as I guess I haven't always had much direction.

I'd really just be interested to hear from anyone who has done something similar, and how you found living in a different culture, the teaching environment, etc.

Cheers.

I'm signed up to get TEFL certification in June. I plan to move to Italy for a few years and teach.

I have friends who have done this and had an amazing time. But you can forget buying anything from Biotest and drop your bodybuidling habit, cause they don't pay jack shit! I'll be so skinny when I return to California in a few years.

They pay well in Japan, Korea, and China, but I can't imagine myself having a good time in any of those countries. Not being able to speak the language would suck, especially if its something difficult to learn like any asian language.

You'd be better of in a spanish speaking country...its really easy to learn. Otherwise, you will be isolated if you can't at least have a hint of what everyone around you is talking about!