Anyone Else Here in College? I Am and It Sucks

im getting butt whooped. I’m a biology major. lets just say it will take a little longer for me to transfer to another school.

You’re being a pussy.

I got my bachelor’s in physics. It was hard, but it was probably one of the best moments in my life. Go to class, study, do my homework, go to the gym and train. Take naps mid day if I wanted too. Much better than working full-time, thats for sure. Even though it was a very challenging degree for me to get, it was a very rewarding experience.

I’ve actually returned to school now doing nanoscience, and wish I had this mindset now when I did my undergrad. Just yesterday, I was being trained on a tunneling electron microscope and I was listening to this dude talk and I realized that … “man, I need to man up!” This cat was trying to hurry up because he had a meeting with the DoD in a couple hours on a grant and would be reading several scientific articles at once while we were figuring things out. This guy had about 50+ publications, 15+ patents, three doctorates/PhDs, and who knows what else going on… and he was pretty young. Busy, busy guy. So, it was one of those moments where I though to myself, “I’m not doing enough!” I personally do not have interest in being that busy, but it certainly helps put your life in perspective when you surround yourself with people whom are truly pushing the barriers.

So, point being, sometimes you just need to change your mindset. College can certainly be challenging, no doubt, but it is something I think you can manage and do very well at.

2 Likes

Grow a set and get it done. Or, you can move to Alabama and I can get you a job working with my cousin. He didn’t like college either so he dropped out. He cuts pulp wood for a living. He says that sucks worse than college did.

In my experience, college, as a whole, was an indication of the intensity of a career.