T Nation

Anyone Competing in Girevoy Sport

I started training with KBs a few weeks ago and it's fun!
Anyone here competing in Girevoy?

For traditional weight training, I found that adopting a powerlifting mindset of just a single goal of lifting big numbers helped me progress a lot, even though I've never competed.

Ditto for KB. While I have no desire to compete, I want to base my routines on increasing my numbers in the C&J and Snatch. Can you share some of your routines with me? Or perhaps guide me to some site or DVD where I can find them? I'm looking at some routines which would have the C&J and Snatch at their core + assistance work. (5/3/1 for KB!!)

It seems all the KB resources and DVDs out there are based around 'working out' and getting 'fit' a concept I've never been able to define properly. I want clear numbers to pursue.

Look up Valery Fedorenko. He is the master when it comes to girevoy sport.

Valery has a ton of great GS material - you may even wish to consider his cert. I have worked with many great GS athletes - a sport that certainly requires incredible mental fortitude!

As with any other sport be sure to learn the technique and practice, practice, practice. Expect to spend a hell of a lot of time jerking and snatching.

Other than that from the other GS athletes I've worked with, some recommend supplementing your GS work with other heavy lifts (Squats, deads, etc) while others have argued that it's better to simply invest that time in the GS lifts.

I have never personally competed in GS, but if I were ever to do so, I would certainly focus on upping my limit strength with big auxiliary lifts at least once a week and spending the rest of my time performing timed sets, speed sets, and heavy sets of both long cycle, short cycle, and snatch. Hope this helps