T Nation

Anyone a Correctional Officer ?

The prison near me is having interviews on Saturday for Correctional Officers, and I was thinking of applying. The only requirements are a high school diploma, and being 19 or older. I was just wondering if anyone here knows what it’s like, it seems like something I might possibly be interested in.

Only thing is, I read that some of the functions for the job are things like backup in riot control, and stuff like that. Are people who do this kind of job usually fairly big? I’m 19, 5’11, and 180lbs (although I’m gaining weight now, I had to cut for a while in order to compete in a tournament in my weight class). I guess I just kind of want to know what it’s like. I have around 13 or 14 years experience in martial arts though, figure I might as well do something that could possibly involve them.

Do you really want to be in a prison all day, even as a guard? I would rank that job as my last possible option, lower than cleaning horse stalls.

The State run prisons in Colorado have pretty high standards. I believe you need a minimum of an associates degree to be hired. The pay is pretty good as well. I believe they start you out around 32,000 a yr with State benefits.

Over the last ten years many private prisons have sprung up throughout the US. I have know a few people that have worked at these type of facilities and from what I’ve heard from them it sounds pretty bad! Low pay combined with a high turnover rate and undermanned staff equate to undermanned facilities and long hours for little pay. I think the private prison here in Colorado start off around $9.00 or $10.00 bucks an hour.

And, remember, you are working with societys assholes, they throw shitbombs on the staff, try to assault them, are always looking for a weakness to exploit. Well thats my perpective that I could offer, good luck if you do it!