Anybody Favor Splits Over Full Body?

I’ve been doing full body workouts for a the past several months, while I have enjoyed them greatly, even keeping spreadsheet records of them, I’m still itching to try split routines again. Prior to the full body routines, I was doing something like 2 days on 1 of, 2 on, 2 off type deal. It was periodorized so that the first month would be 8-12 rep range, 2nd month 5-9, and then the 3rd would focus mainly on power, with reps falling in the 1-5 bracket. All months would generally be a set of 4, so volume would decrease as weight got heavier.

The main reason I like this so much, is that I was able to see progress from session to session. When I broke out of my desired rep range, I would go up in weight. This would almost always result in adding anywhere from 5-10 lbs a session. In other words, felt as if I was putting everything on the line and training with maximum intensity,whereas with full body programs, where I do a set amount of reps without hitting failure kinda leaves me feeling I’m holding something back. Any thoughts?

This was talked about last week or so. It seems that you should do what results in the greatest gains for you. If it is a split, so be it.

I’d be curious to know what kind of long term strength gains you made. Seems to me the main disadvantage to linear periodization like you described is that you lose the strength qualities you trained in the previous parts of the cycle.

I’d be curious to know your experience in that regard.

[quote]speedy5323 wrote:

In other words, felt as if I was putting everything on the line and training with maximum intensity,whereas with full body programs, where I do a set amount of reps without hitting failure kinda leaves me feeling I’m holding something back. Any thoughts?[/quote]