T Nation

Any Type 2 Diabetics Here?

I found out I have it at a fitness fair. I'm not overweight, 15 percent body fat, and have worked out my whole life. Unfortunately, I have a bad family history. All of them that have it are also thin.

I benched 315 and reciently just learned, thanks to the article on this site to powerclean. I got, an easy, 208 at 199 lbs and 280 blood sugar LOL... So I'm hopeing I can keep improving at lifting.

First visit to the doc was so so. Meds didn't take to well. I was still in the low to high 200s in morning/night, and around 150 daytime. Second visit he double my doseages. A1C was 9.2.

Just to clarify, I'm looking for advise or tips from anyone that has it. I'm totally new to it....

I'm a Type I diabetic but would be glad to offer any advice you might be interested in. Is there anything specific that you're curious about? Haha, as I'm sure you're finding out, diabetes is an enormous topic.

It sounds like you've usually worked out and have led a healthy lifestyle so that's a big plus. You're light years ahead of most Type 2 diabetics.

Some sound advice for any diabetic is to first locate a good endocrinologist that you feel comfortable with. Often times if you were diagnosed by your routine MD, he/she will recommend that you begin seeing an endocrinologist.

LOL..yeah, there appears to be a lot to learn. My biggest problem is my blood sugar is all over the place, and I seem not to be able to tell, w/o the meter, if it's semi-high, ok , or low. I can tell really high. Will I eventually be able to tell?

I've had minimal diet advice, at this point. Some of my worst numbers have been 3-4 hrs after pizza. Is pizza bad?

How low is too low? I was at 83 at the start of a wo, and consired, so drank some apple juice before I started. Ended with 132 so at least didn't go down....