Any T-Cops?

I was wondering how many (if any) cops were out there lurking in the the T-Nation. I would be interested in the training styles/programs you’ve found to be most effective as it relates to the job. I am a cop in California. I am 6’2" 250 at around 18% bf. I am currently doing Joel Marion’s New Ripped Rigged and Dense because I’m a fat ass. But I mostly like to do the compound movements, not a lot of isolation. I figure core strength and explosive power are gonna be most important for law enforcement purposes. So I do a lot of squats, deads, clean and jerks, rows, presses, etc. Anyone else?

While developing strength, power and nicely defined large muscles are all great things…our local officers are all now taking Aikido and are having great fun inflicting their control over the “bad guys”.

Looking intimidating is nice, but being in control of someone will make your job much easier.

http://www.advantagemartialarts.com/main.html

I would imagine more often than not that being intimidating is being in control.

Akheron: try explaining that to a druggie that is tripping or a mean drunk that just doesn’t give a shit.

Using brute force can get an officer into hot water. Being able to control someone and not be accused of brutality is essential.

Kudos to you. COre strength is of irreplaceable value in the law enforcement profession. For the same reason a Martial Artist can’t afford to lose his balance in a fight, for the same reason a surfer has to control his balance precisely, and for the same reason a football player must have strong stability in the face of opposing team members trying to tackle him - As a cop, in a worst case scenario you will be dealing with a jackass who will try to do something stupid. Simple isolation exercises will not teach you how to use your body as a whole, certainly will not give you core strength for the most part.