Any Smiths Fans?

I was born in 81 so I was just a wee nipper when these guys were big. But I’ve been getting in to them in recent months.

I think lyrically, some of their stuff is unreal. I wonder where Morrisey gets it from sometimes. Stuff like How Soon is Now? for example. It’s just so depressing and dark. How could a man like Morrisey who was probably lusted after by so many, ever feel like that? What is he tapping in to?

Anyway, I’m no expert on them but would be good to hear from some fans…

[quote]AdamC wrote:
Anyway, I’m no expert on them but would be good to hear from some fans…[/quote]

I like the Smiths in a depressing monotone way. Actually, “How Soon is Now” (sometimes referred to as the “Stairway to Heaven of the eighties”) reminds me of clubbing at Spit on Landsdowne Street in 1985.

Some of it is alright.

they stole billy duuffy’s guitar sound.

I like The Smiths. …Just saw Morrissey last month, it was a remarkable show. One of my favourites is ‘handsome devil’…that song hits the spot. I wondered if he’d play ‘America is not the world’…it would have been funny.

As it was, he couldn’t sell out the smallish venue and joked …‘what, is Entourage on tonight or something?’…sad testament really. His commentary throughout the show was entertaining… and performance was top notch.

Lyrically I could get lost for days in the substance.

Send me the pillow …
The one that you dream on …
Send me the pillow …
The one that you dream on …
And I’ll send you mine

Anytime Moz.

I just wanted to bring up the fact that Mexicans love the Smiths and Morrissey and I find that amazingly interesting.

Only lknow a few tracks, but this charming man and the boy with a thorn in his side bothare really good

I love the Morrissey bit by comedian Dana Gould. Atypical M lyrics:

"I cried today,
Oh yes, I cried today.
Did I mention that I cried today?

I cried… and then I died."

here’s what i think of the smiths: