Any Servers Here on T-Nation?

I’ve been serving or bussing in the resturant business for about 5 years now and have developed a huge right shoulder from all the carrying. I never noticed until about 6 months ago and since then have starting carrying trays over head with my left arm.

Learning to carry with your non dominant arm is nerve racking but well worth the change in musclarity. My left shoulder and bicep have almost completely caught up with my right.

Anyone else have a similiar problem?

[nerd alert] I saw the title and thought you meant computers. Jeeez.

Server here as well. I bus too and work in the kitchen. Corporate, 15 - 20 dollar plates.

I enjoy it alot. Its a nice job to have while going to school. Flexible schedule, and isn’t too physically demanding so it allows me to have a heavy workload as far as training goes. Decent pay as well.

Havent noticed anything as far as muscular imbalances goes. But thats interesting how your dominant tray carrying shoulder is larger. Something I will take into consideration.

I used to work as a glassie in a nightclub and did notice an increase in strength from carrying large trays of glasses overhead. Not sure about changes in size though!

[quote]Florida Titan wrote:
I’ve been serving or bussing in the resturant business for about 5 years now and have developed a huge right shoulder from all the carrying. I never noticed until about 6 months ago and since then have starting carrying trays over head with my left arm.

Learning to carry with your non dominant arm is nerve racking but well worth the change in musclarity. My left shoulder and bicep have almost completely caught up with my right.

Anyone else have a similiar problem?[/quote]

Did that gig for two years. I started to get it bad in the wrist from holding a large tray over my head…

phew, thought this was going to be another one bitching about tips