T Nation

Any Reason Not to Start AAS?

I started researching AAS back in the beginning of the summer. I still have a lot of research to do but am glad I spent the time to learn as much as I have. Eventually I want to get my level of knowledge on the subject up to where it is with nutrition and training, which has been ongoing for 5 years.

I started training at 15 and am almost 21 now. Really the net time though was about 3.5 years of training due to surgery and accutane making 2 years a complete waste. So basically 15-16 and then 18-21. In that time I have gone from 125 to 175 at about the same leanness. For the record I started out fat when I was considerably younger and got skinny through poor dieting. For my size my strength is decent (deadlift around 450, front squat around 250...nothing crazy) but have constantly been frustrated with how easily I seem to put on fat and how so many people I know are bigger than me while lifting considerably less weight. I have worked with 2 respectable online trainers and both have said that out of the hundreds of clients they've worked with I am in the top when it comes to how easily I put on fat. I can gain weight and could be much heavier now if I wanted to but I'd be much fatter as well.

I have had my thyroid and Test levels checked. I seem to be hypothyroid (TSH in the 3's) and have pretty low test (right around 400ng/dl which at any age sucks but especially this age). Free test around 95. One of the things people say about early Test use is that it can bring your natural levels down but mine are already crappy to begin with. And I would of course get appropriate PCT.

So basically, having learned a lot about training and diet in the last 5 years, while adding 50lb of mass and getting up to respectable lifts, and already having shitty Test levels and being somewhat hypothyroid is there any good reason for me not to start experimenting with AAS at this point? Starting with something simple like 4-500mg/week Test E, e.g.