T Nation

Any Help for Wrist Size, Not Forearms?

My weakest body part are my wrists. Its the weak link between my hands and my arms and subsequently my core. In fact my right wrist hurts as soon as I try to bench (I work through this pain). When I buy a watch I have to punch new holes in it because of how tiny my pathetic wrists are.

Is it just a matter of bulking up and lifting heavy or are the wrists just kind of the way they are? I've been training for about 6 months now and have gone from a skinny guy to fairly muscular but my wrists have remained tiny.

I was sparring with a student of mine and he punched my wrist on accident and it stung terribly. Meanwhile after our sparring match he commented that I had a 6 pack - the first person to ever do so. Its horrible that I've made so much progress and yet my wrists are still so tiny.

I do deadlifts and pull-ups and whenever I touch a plate I pinch grip it and my forearms have definitely gotten bigger but not my wrists.

Maybe its my own insecurities about having such small wrists but I think it also is a bit demasculating - I mean shit I can't even wear a decent men's watch.

Hey Ryan,

I'm the same way. Honestly I don't think your bone structure (i.e. wrist size) will change much at this point.

People like us weren't meant to lift extremely heavy weights. No excuse; just reality.
This sounds questionable but look at the wrist sizes of any "big" or powerhouse guy, be he in bodybuilding, power=lifting, MMA or sports in general. Big wrists = more potential.

I'd guess that you could get an aesthetic physique though, as most of the time you'll have narrow joints (offset by large muscles hopefully) which accentuate a tapered, chiseled look. So there's something going for us..

If your wrists are unusually thin/frail, things like straight bar benching and in my experience straight bar curling will cause pain and possibly eventually lead to injuries down the track if you're thick headed about it.