T Nation

Any EMTs or Paramedics Out There?

I'm thinking about changing careers and am looking into becoming a certified EMT and eventually a paramedic. Any advice? What do you think is the future for job growth? Would a basic EMT course at a local community college be the best place to start? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks all!!

It depends.... what do u do now? How do u deal with stress? U need to have a really good stress reaction. I have seen a lot of really SMART people who REALLY wanted to be in EMS REALLY bad... but some things cannot be learned. I some of the best emt's I know aren't even usually good at most things... but they are amazing EMT's.

I was an EMT for 5 years and I have been a paramedic now for 3 years. BEST JOB in the world. It's not about smarts or studying or being a bad ass. U gotta have the right personality or it will eat u alive.I have watched a lot of people come and go. U should go do a few rides with your local fire dept or ambulance service. Most will let u if u sign a release. Do more than one ride. U need to see the variety.

The ups and downs. Sometimes u will be bored for hours... sometimes u will be so busy u don't get a chance to eat or pee for 10 hours or more. It tends to be kind of extreme. If u are into extreme it might be a good job for u.Good luck.

I'm in IT, but to be honest I'm not the best at handling stress. I think I'm at a point in life where I want to do sonething where I can make a difference. I can't see being a cubicle prisoner the rest of my life. That ride along sounds like a good idea, though. Thanks.

Stress reaction is VERY important. If daily stress bothers u, imagine a car wreck with multiple patients.... a dead baby.... or a psych patient that has a great idea about chewing on your arm..