Any Civil Engineers?

I got my BSCE back in '02, and I have been working as a site civil engineer since then.

For about the last year or so, I’ve become kind of burned out from doing this type of work. So much of it is tedious and boring to me.

Anyway, I was curious to see if there are any other people here that are civil engineers, and have a job they enjoy doing.

Ive spent some time considering going back to school - things that I might consider are an MBA, masters in mechanical engineering, or possibly architecture. However, before I go that route, I know there are several different fields that civils can work in (structural engineering, geotechnical engineering, water management, etc) - and so Id like to try at least one other branch of C.E. before making a major career change and/or going back to school.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

ur not alone, but im on he other side of the boat, i graduated in 01 with a BS in Mechanical Eng. BUT worked thru school in Civil Eng firms(why? i dont know) and eversince i graduated i’ve been working for Arch or Civil Eng. i work for a Land Surveying-Land Planning-Land Development type company here in San Diego, CA. im very pleased at what i do, its great $$ and experience, i would definitly recommend going for a MS in Civil, i cant ( no schools around here have any good Civil programs), DO NOT i repreat DO NOT go into Mecanical Eng. unless u live in the midwest ( they have all the good Mech eng. related companies). so far of what i have seen CA is good if ur into Civil, electrical or programming. NOT mechanical.
i hope this helps, go for the MS, u can never loose when it comes to getting a higher education.

I started out my career in civil engineering. I received my masters degree in environmental engineering. It was ok but not great earning potential unless you started your own consulting firm.