T Nation

Anti-Inflammatory Attack Plan

i have an interest in adding anti-inflammatory elements into my diet. ive had some tendon and/or ligament issues in the past, and once in awhile my knee gets inflamed if I’m not careful which is an annoyance. I’ve found a number of things to help me over a period of time…

#1 Fish Oil: mega-dosing on a constant basis. I try to get at least 15 grams of it depending on what brand I’m using. If using a high EPA/DHA supp like Flameout you need substantially less caps.

#2 Other good fats: I try to avoid starchy carbs and take in a higher fat intake than most lifters. I find this helps over the long run.

#3 Garlic: I’m a poor student so instead of garlic in capped form I chop and mince up a clove of garlic before bed and down it as fast as I can with water…

#4 Turmeric / Circumin: I’ve just started using this more by itself. I’ve always had it in food, but I’m trying one teaspoon a day before bed. Will definately cap this though, its wayyyy to strong. Anyone have any idea of dosages? Can I OD on this stuff?

#5 Cissus RX: I use the USP labs product in bulk form for cheapness, i think its a 10% extract. I take about 15 grams a day. it worked wonders on some elbow problems i’ve had… it tastes horrible though.

Anyone have any other ideas or any comments on my regime

this looks good. please update on the the effectiveness of tumeric. Garlic is an anti-inflammatory as well.

actually i posted the turmeric being terrible in powder form without trying it; i just assumed. i just ate 4g of it. just put the powder on your tongue and wash down with water. not bad at all, pleasant compared to cissus. also i should mention if you are eating garlic raw you should make sure to chew it or mince it up before eating to help release the active compounds

Good plan. Pretty much what I’d follow.