T Nation

Anterior Knee Pain and Hip Catching/Clicking

tl;dr: read the topic title. my pelvis seems misaligned causing knee pain, and my hip has a slightly limited ROM at a certain point which I've been able to overcome by pushing/stretching through it. but how do I fix my misalignment?

I was in a bike accident at the end of last April. Didn't seem very serious, got up and walked immediately, some bruising on my left hip area. After a couple days I started training again, and had been focusing on my hip abductors at the time before the accident, so did that again. Ended up with excruciating pain and it completely disabled me from walking for a good three months until I figured out what was causing the problem - massive trigger points in my left leg, completely inactive gluteal muscles, calf muscles, and thigh muscles. I saw a chiropractor who readjusted my leg lengths (which got messed up in the injury somehow) and readjusted either my pelvis or my hip, not sure which, and that helped massively and allowed my glutes to fire again. After a month or so of SMR I had reactived all the muscles in my left leg.

I think complications arose when my muscles were in that state of atrophy. My left knee started hurting really bad, and the range of motion of my left hip was limited. I am able to move through certain degrees of certain movements with some clicks, and I was thinking if I kept moving through the clicks they would go away and free up the hip. That actually helped a little bit, as I've regained most of my hip's ROM. But not all of it. My knee has also gotten a lot better as I took time off my sport and weight training, and now that I've been rehabbing with deep squats, deadlifts, and single leg lunges, I've regained a lot of strength (though not nearly where I was before) and my knee hurts slightly less.