Another Teenager who Just Needs to Eat and Lift...

I’m relatively new to T-Nation and I just wanted to introduce myself and ask some advice on diet. I’m a 17 year old college freshman and I’m 5’10", just over 160 pounds, with low bodyfat (somewhere under 10%, my abs are visible).

I’ve been going to the weight room for 2 years now, but have only, within the past few months, actually approached training in an organized manner. That’s a horrible picture, but it’s the only one I have of me recently where I’m not completely covered. I think it kinda shows how I’ve got a crappy (aka - narrow) frame. I’ll try to get a shot of my back or legs soon.

Anyways, these are my PRs:
Squat - 240 X 3
Bentover Row - 155 X 5
Bench - 200 X 5
Deadlift - 315 X 1 (sumo stance)

I have focused disproportionately on the bench press because at my high school, that’s all most people would do and also because I have a small chest (I now realize that at 160 pounds, I’m really just small all over). I hope it saves me a bit of credit that I was the only kid who squatted, rowed, or deadlifted in either my school gym or my commercial gym.

My main question is regarding diet, but I think I should give a quick overview of my training. Basically, I’m focusing on slowly increasing my weights on squatting, deadlifting, benching, overhead pressing, rowing, and pullup…ing.

I’ve got these little fractional plates (got them on my internship in Thailand of all places…) and the plan is to do two upper body and two lower body workouts a week. I do variations of the exercises for a set number of sets and reps and each workout I’ll add one or two more pounds. That’s pretty much it.

As a college kid, I have plenty of time to train and eat, but I don’t have enough money to buy lots of supplements and all that. I have a job, but most of that needs to go elsewhere. So this is my basic plan:

Breakfast (8AM) - lots of eggs, fruit, granola
Snack (10AM) - milk, sliced meat I steal from the cafeteria