T Nation

Another Newbie

Hello all,

I have read and lurked quite a long time on this forum and finally got
down to
a) joining
b) starting to post
c) setting goals for myself
d) finally getting my ass out of bed and doing it !!!

I am a 40 year old German, lawyer by profession, living and working in
China (Shanghai) about to become a first time father (2 more months :slightly_smiling:
and generally quite an optimistic guy. Looking back 15 months, that
optimism got a blow when I saw the scale hit 92kg (202pds) (I am 6 ft
with a slight build - not too much muscle I must admit - see photos - they look pretty bad).

I have been in and out of fitness studios in Germany over the last 4 to
5 years but never took it serious (enough) and did not follow the basic
guidelines like a nutrition plan or working out really hard. I guess I
appeased myself with telling myseld 'I do sports' ... well looks like I
didn't do enough and more likely with not enough passion and discipline.

That changed with the scale hitting 200pds ...

I actually try to achieve 2 goals: Fat loss and muscle gain (typical,
isn't it - and no I don't think this is the mid life crisis - yet :-)).
So after reading lots of articles here I decided to seperate the two and
start off by getting rid of some of the fat (Cardio, eating better).
That worked quite well I think.

I started out doing 3 months of mainly
Cardio only to get my body into gear again and got down to around
170pds. I am hoping to finish that phase with the Velocity diet (for
beginners) in the next 4-6 weeks, depending on the fact that my
supplements are held by Chinese customs at the moment ... arrrrghhhhh

After the diet the plan would be to enjoy some quality time with my wife
and son (taking holiday for approx 6 weeks) and after getting back to
work start a clean muscle buildup phase.

At age 40 I will probably not reach any results too soon and certainly
not some of the amazing transformations some guys (and gals) achieved