Another New Guy -

this one wtih a bench press problem
Howdy!

I’m a skinny bastard who’s becoming an average bastard. Before I get to the bench press part first some basic info about me. I’m 32 years old, stand 178 cm and weighed 62,5 kilograms (~139 pounds) back in November when I started lifting weights and eating more (I’m now up to 69 kilos or ~153 pounds).

I’ve stayed at 62-63 kilos for over a decade in spite of working a desk job, not playing any sports and eating much more than any of the rounder members of my family - so it’s safe to say my metabolism is higher than average. My goal for this year is 80 kilos naked morning weight, then we’ll see…

I’m doing three total body sessions a week but (blasphemy!) no bench presses. I do deadlifts, squats, pullups, floor presses, bentover rows, shoulder presses and also learning cleans and snatches.

I broke my left collarbone a decade ago, the doctor who looked at it didn’t think there was any point in setting it so now it’s about 5 cm shorter than the right. It doesn’t generally bother me, the range of motion in my left shoulder is good, but it gets very sore very quickly doing full-range bench presses or pec flyes.

Keeping my elbows in doesn’t seem to help any. But floor presses seem OK. So my plan is to keep doing that and also keep doing shoulder work and see if maybe in a month I can bench press without pain. If not, I’ll stay on the floor.

Does that sound like a good plan? Should I be doing any other exercises to add what I’m missing by not doing full-ROM bench presses?

I eat seven times a day, typically:

7 - oatmeal with whole milk, nuts and honey
10 - some fruit pastries
12 - sausage or ham (often horse or venison or wild boar) and bread
15 - two cans of fish (usually tuna), bread or crackers
18 - meat or fish, vegetables (often including buckwheat gruel because I got 10 kilos from an uncle who grows it), beer
20 - same as before or maybe some eggs or canned fish but no beer