T Nation

Another 'Critique My Program and Plan'

Height:183cm (6 feet)
Weight:86kg (189lbs) - Big ass and thighs. Most of my fat is held on my butt, upper thighs and lower abdomen.
BF: ~ 20% (need to get this checked)

I haven't checked my 1rm but will do so in the coming weeks - I train at home, alone and my housemates are rarely around to help spot me for a 1rm. I've got a bit of mass but I'm fucking weak. I've been traning seriously for about 3 months.

5x5 numbers are

B.P: 67.6kg / 149lbs
SQ: 82.6kg / 182lbs
D.L: 82.6kg / 182lbs

I've been starting low with both squat and deadlift and increasing weight each week and feel that my d.l and squat will be up by 20-30 pounds in no time. When dealifting heavy I can bust out at least 3 more reps and still feel something left in the tank

• Long-term goal is to improve my soccer performance (I play as a center back and as a central midfielder) and drag my physique along with it. My skills have always been my strength and only really let me down as I get fatigued. My weakness has always been explosiveness, speed and endurance.

• Currently off season. I have around 5 months before the season begins around Easter, with pre-season beginning around February which is s.s cardio, hiit and speed and agility work.

My plan is to build a basis of strength with mainly compound 5x5 movements and start phasing in some more explosive work and sprinting around January-February. Starting by implementing some power shrugs - I've read that the progression up to Power Cleans should begin this way - my wrist/shoulder/triceps flexibility does not allow me to rack Power Cleans without hurting my wrists (I'm working on it with static stretching).

Basically I plan the progression into the season as follows.

Strength - Strength/Explosiveness - Agility, speed and conditioning.

Monday: I play futsal (indoor soccer) 40 minute game with ~ 2 minute half time.

Tue: 5x5 Lower Strength work
- Box Squat
- Deadlift