T Nation

Another Book Thread

I know there have been several book threads in the past, but being an avid reader, I am always on the lookout for good recommendations. I have read a few really great books based on some of the past threads, so I thought I would start a thread to see which books you guys have read lately, and if you recommend them or not. I know there are a ton of other readers on here. I am studying for a professional exam right now, so I have not been reading as much as I usually do, but here are the last few books I have read.

1) Unbroken, A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption, by Laura Hillenbrand. Great true story about an Olympic sprinter turned airman in WWII who survived a long period adrift at sea in a life boat, then years of captivity as a Japanese POW.

2) Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett. Novel about centered around the building of a cathedral in medieval England. Not one that I would have thought to read myself, but picked it up on a recommendation and loved it. Great book.

3) The Survivors Club, by Ben Sherwood. This is about common traits that survivors of life and death situations have, and kind of a how to survival guide when faced with life threatening situations. An interesting read, but not sure I buy into all of it.

I've read several really good books lately.

Three New Deals by Wolfgang Schivelbusch
-this book is basically an assertion (and a well-argued one) that FDR, Hitler and Mussolini were all very similar in terms of economic policy. It's quite provocative, but the guy who wrote it is one of the preeminent experts in the world on the Third Reich and European fascism, so it's definitely from a legit source.

Explaining Hitler by Ron Rosenbaum
-this is a psychohistorical analysis of Hitler. Psychohistory is a relatively new field of study and there isn't anyone better to study within this field than Hitler and his various pathologies.

Psychopathic God by Robert Waite