Another Beat Up Topic

okay guys sorry for the newb question that im sure a lot of you are tired of answering.

I’ve always done straight sets (3x10,4x8,5x5etc.) all using the same weight ever since i started lifting 3 years ago. I’m pretty disapointed with my numbers and i’d like to blame it on genetics, but i’ve noticed a lot of the bigger guys or the guys with bigger numbers like to ramp and there are just so many ways to do it. I know ramping is one of those preference things but id like to know if im fucking this up. so this is what i did today on my chest and tri day in the gym.

flat barbell bench press
185x5
205x5
225x5
245x5
265x4 (failure)

incline dumbbell bench press
75x5
80x5
85x5
90x5
95x8 (failure)

for triceps i just kept 3x10 straight sets.

so next week when i do bb flat bench i do 265 again and try to do more than 4 reps? and if i do then the week after i try for like 270 or 275?

and on the incline DB bench next week i go for 100 as many times as i can right?

one more question regarding ramping, would it be more optimal to lower reps as i get closer to my last set for instance on my flat bb bench press once i hit 245 to lower reps to 2 or 3 so that i can possibly get more reps on my last set?

not sure how others do it, but I don’t waste too much effort doing reps at the heavier warmup weights. most of the warming up is done with light weights (ex. bar x15-20 reps, 95x10-15 reps, 135x8-10 reps for incline BB bench) and with the heavier weights I’ll do maybe 2-3 reps, or even just multiple singles, just to make sure my bar path remains correct and that the muscles and joints involved feel ok under heavier loads.

my top set has to reach at least 6 clean reps, and when I can hit 10 clean reps then I add another 10 lb. until I hit 10 clean reps, I just try to get at least 1 more rep than my last session, even if I need a RP or a spot to get that extra rep. I also try to get more reps on the sets that I ladder down to.