T Nation

Animal Pak Causing Constipation

So I started taking this once a day to coincide with my new training plan and dieting. Within 48 hrs I noticed constipation. Not like I can not go at all, but we will call it stressed and uncomfortable. Maybe some TMI, but I am looking for help lol. Is there something I could take to combat this, because overall it does cover a lot of bases for me? Or just stop them maybe.

Have you ruled out any diet change?

The current diet I am on is one I have been doing for about 2 months, give or take with any bowel issues. The fine tuning I have done to my diet that I reference as “new” above was focusing on consistency on the weekends and limiting my calories more per day to help with additional body fat loss. I will also state that I have, around the time of this Pak, starting drink 2 protein shakes a day (1 of which has creatine).

Here is an example of my diet that I am doing today.

Diet planned for today
Breakfast - 3 eggs plus turkey sausage
Snack - greek yogurt w/ granola
Protein shake
Lunch - Burger patty w/ broccoli
Snack - Peanutbutter oat meal
Light Ab workout planned today
BCAA drink - let it settle
Protein shake w/ creatine powder
Seasoned Chicken breast w/ veggies

Low quality forms of many of the ingredients. Id ditch the multi

2 Likes

Excess protein can cause constipation for some ppl, especially when dieting
Creatine can also reduce hydration levels, which can contribute to constipation
Maybe try drinking more water?

1 Like

Thanks. Can you specify which ones are on the lower quality side so I can look for them in the future?

I am at around 132 oz of water a day. Any recommendation on quantity to up to to potentially nullify such effects?

1 Like

FWIW, I’m 5’11" 180lb and I drink 6L of water/day. I second the recommendation to up water intake, and not give up just yet. There’s alot of new ingredients there and your body may just need a minute to adjust.

2 Likes