Andy Warhol

Let’s discuss Andy Warhol. Any opinions are welcome. Love him? Hate him? Was he a genius? What do you think of his art?

Drella, is the spiritual ancestor of the ‘famous for doing nothing, but knowing who to know’ celebrity…

Best thing he/she/it ever did was collect the VU, and support them early on.

There’s a discussion about him on another thread around here…

I used be friends with a guy that wrote a book about Andy Warhol. He knew him and had some very interesting stories from those times - apparently the guy was a bit of a freak show upon occasion. I also dated an older woman when I was in my early 20’s who was peripherally on that scene as well when she was younger. Sounded like a fun party!

I’m no art expert, but from what I gather, he was fairly influential. I really don’t have very strong opinions about art one way or the other. If someone can sell a painting for a million bucks, I say more power to them! (but I’m not buying it)

[quote]angry chicken wrote:
I used be friends with a guy that wrote a book about Andy Warhol. He knew him and had some very interesting stories from those times - apparently the guy was a bit of a freak show upon occasion. I also dated an older woman when I was in my early 20’s who was peripherally on that scene as well when she was younger. Sounded like a fun party!

I’m no art expert, but from what I gather, he was fairly influential. I really don’t have very strong opinions about art one way or the other. If someone can sell a painting for a million bucks, I say more power to them! (but I’m not buying it)[/quote]

While I do not ‘hate’ Drella, I look at him as less than a footnote in world culture, even of the more base sort that he wallowed in…

Drella seems to be the hero of people whom want to get ‘rich and famous’ for ‘doing little’, and or people whom live vicariously through others actual xp in things they could never for whatever reasons…