T Nation

Analyse New Workout Please

Okay , well first before i start pls do not make fun of my progress , its still progress . well , i've been doing stronglifts 5x5 for the past 2 months . i've had to make several deloads on almost all of my lifts now and then . but overall my weight has increased . my height is still the same at 6 feet but my weight has gone from 110 to 119 pounds .

The issue is today i met this guy at the gym who really criticized my workout . he said that stronglifts was just a strength training or starter workout and that i really didnt look like a guy who could deadlift 100 pounds . so clearly my strength has increased but my mass does not show it . he suggested to switch to the following workout -

squat-3x8
calf raises ( while holding the barbell) - 3x8
bench press -3x8
tricep curls - 3x8
forearm curls -3x8
deadlift - 1x5

According to him , it would be better to switch to this workout and to follow it each day . i am just looking for other people's views . doesnt this seem to be over training ? and also iam swimming 5 days a week plus cricket practice twice a week . I really think its over training but i really want to know what everyone else thinks .

PS - i do appear not to be making much appearance change with stronglifts despite my strength increasing . and my target is to bulk . pls guys , just analyse this without hurling rude comments !

If your making progress on 5x5 then there is no reason to change it and listen to some random guy in the gym. Also don’t forget to eat a lot especially since you are swimming and playing cricket. Aslong as you eat enough sleep enough and can recover for your next training session your not over training IMO