Anabolic Diet Questions

Hi Everyone!

My name is Kim, i’m new to T-Nation. I’ve been powerlifting for 3.5 years now.

I have a few questions about the anabolic diet. I hope you will be able to answer :slight_smile:

I am currently 5 days into the starting phase.

I was wondering, because I count everything on myfitnesspal. I was just wondering if fiber counts towards total carb intake. I am aware that i have to keep carbs under 30 grams. But I read on forums that Fiber IS a carb. So If i have 30g carbs per day and take a fiber supplement and hit 40g of fiber. Does it mean I am over consuming carbs??

1. Am I actually consuming 40grams of carbs or is it still 30g of carbs?
  2. OR is it 30g of carbs + 40 g of fiber which adds up to 70g of carbs??

Second question

I was wondering if it is okay to drink coke zero? Although it says its virtually 0 carbs. But was wondering if it has any impact on insulin. Will it kick me out of ketosis.

Many thanks and any help would be appreciated :slight_smile:
Kim

1. Don’t count fiber. It is composed of carbs, but because your body cannot digest it it passes into the colon where bacteria ferment it into short chain fatty acids. The carbs in fiber never become carbs in your body, they typically yield about 2 calories per gram through fermentation into butyrate and other SCFAs.

2. You shouldn’t be in ketosis for the Anabolic Diet. You might enter it for a while in the induction phase, but once you become fat adapted your ketone levels should be normal. I would be more concerned about the various non-food chemicals in a diet Coke instead of how it affects your insulin. I prefer to drink naturally flavored sparkling waters, and maybe some tea if I need the caffeine. Good luck on this diet!

Don’t count fibre. You will need it. 30g is not written in stone. Find out what your max will be. As long as you don’t have milk (heavy cream is better), too many nuts, etc, you will be fine.