An OK Program for a Beginner?

I have never tried to gain muscle before.
I used to be fat, 5’3 ~ 160 lbs.

I went down to about ~120 lbs over about a year through cardio. I started to do starting strength for about two months. I’m about ~130 lbs now. (I actually started to eat after eating like nothing for a year) but I really don’t like the workout. To me, its kind of boring and I hate doing legs everyworkout.

I heard that in the beginning you don’t need that fancy of a workout. So will this push / pull split work ok?
I tried it for a week and its so much more fun to do.

Push: (Chest, Triceps, Shoulders)
Barbell Flat Benchpress 3x10
Barbell Military Press 3x10
Dips 3x10
Close-grip Flat Benchpress 3x10
Core / Abs

Pull: (Legs, Back, Biceps)
Dumbell Squats 3x10 (I have no power rack yet)
Pull-up 3x4 (working up to more :slight_smile: )
Barbell Deadlift 3x8
Barbell Row 3x8
Standing Bicep Curls 3x10
Core / Abs

I do this workout like this:
Push, off, Pull, off, off, Push, off, Pull, off, off, repeat…

I’m pretty weak right now. Here are my numbers.
Bench Press 105 lbs (3x10)
Deadlift 135 lbs (3x10)

I’m pretty flabby, basically ffb / skinny fat look. My goals are just to add more muscle and lift more until around June - July. I’ll probably weight about 145-150 lbs by then.

I tried to look for some other exercises for hypertrophy but a lot of them say like 8x3.
I’m sort of wary of lifting weight that heavy since I have no spotter and I workout at home.
I have a bench, bar and weights, dumbbells, and I made a pull-up bar.

Some like this http://www.T-Nation.com/article/bodybuilding/stripped_down_hypertrophy&cr=bodybuilding

advocate 5 days a week working out, is this advisable? It just seems like too much to me.

You don’t need a fancy workout. Infact, you can get even more simple then what you posted. Check out stronglifts 5x5 (stronglifts.com) or the “starting strength” 3x5 routine: http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=998224