T Nation

Amy's Just Beginning

Hi everyone, im a newbie to this site, and only just starting out so any tips with diet and exercise would be very much appreciated!
My name is Amy, im 23 and live in Australia. I have just been diagnosed with Hypoglaecemia, so I have had to dramatically change my diet, and am very keen to change my body shape!

I dont have a lot of strength in my arms, so that is something I need to work on. Also, I have lost the muscle that usually sits below the hips and above the thighs.
The doctor has put me on a high carb (low GI) and protein diet and im taking a brand of protein powder called Musashi (might be an aussie brand, not sure).
I have started off slow with the weights and exercise so if anyone thinks I could be trying something else, please let me know!!!

This is what I am doing at the moment:
Twice a week - Running (mix of walking and running) for 40 minutes.
3 times a week - Calf stretches - reps of 20 seconds, 20 lunges each leg, push ups (knees bent, up against lounge) x 10, reverse crunches x 20, plank - hold for one minute, curl and press x 20, bent over row x 20.

Ive added a few pics below…

Do you have access to a gym with a power rack/squat rack?

If you are really interested in weighlifting as opposed to just “exercise” buy the book “New Rules of Lifting for Women” by Lou Schuler, Cassandra Forsythe and Alwyn Cosgrove. Go to Amazon.com

I think it’s a great start for a beginner to get into lifting.

There are plenty of other brands other musashi out there, i find it tastes like absolute crap.
Read, Study, Practice, Learn from mistakes.

[quote]Yo Momma wrote:

If you are really interested in weighlifting as opposed to just “exercise” buy the book “New Rules of Lifting for Women” by Lou Schuler, Cassandra Forsythe and Alwyn Cosgrove. Go to Amazon.com

I think it’s a great start for a beginner to get into lifting.[/quote]